Why do women want a career?

February 20, 2007 at 4:23 pm (feminism)

so what is the purpose of being alive, making 300-400k a year? what are you doing to do with all of that money? i think society has suggested high paying careers and having lots of money and toys to be the purpose of life; it’s like a race to die with the most stuff. guys, studies show that levels of happiness between somebody who makes 50k/yr and somebody who makes more than 100k/yea don’t differ much, except that the higher “are barely happier than others in moment-to-moment experience, tend to be more tense, and do not spend more time in particularly enjoyable activities.” girls, studies show that women who work outside the home and are married tend to be less happy both with life and their marriage. plus, couples are putting off having kids for so long that when they want them it’s often close to impossible to get pregnant.

i’m just saying, focusing a life on earning lots of money doesn’t mean you’ll have the happiest life possible; not everything worth having has a price tag with dollar signs on it.

i’m not trying to make a point or make a political statement. i’m sincerely wondering, what compels a female professional school student to pursue a career?

   

6 Comments

  1. trustwomen said,

    why do men wanr a career?

  2. trustwomen said,

    Gloria Steinem said it best: if being a homemaker is a wonderful, empowering option that is just as fulfilling as having a career, why aren’t more men doing it? It’s a sad state of affairs when women have to justify wanting financial independence, an identity that does not depend on personal relationships, and intellectual fulfillment. Notice the bright, motivated women on this thread who are justifying themselves to a complete stranger; we’re used to it. I wonder how many male med students have to justify their wish to be financially independent and intellectually stimulated in their life path?

  3. noelle said,

    Not all women enjoy staying at home and keeping up the house/their kids. I have two children and do not have the patience to be a stay at home mother. I want to have a career. I think staying at home with my kids would probably drive me nuts. Call me a bad mother if you want, but thats just the way it is.
    It does get a little irritating to be told by men, that women, just because we are women, don’t have the same drive/motivation to have a career as men do. I guess in a lot of ways, other than the lack of a peni5 (and the desires therein), I think more like a man than a steriotypical female.

  4. leya234455 said,

    Should I be stayinghome with my parents, waiting for my “gentleman callers” to come and scoop me up to take care of me? Well, I’m 24 and so far none of these lovely men have tripped over my doorstep. My family is not independently wealthy so they cannot support me. I guess i’ll just have to find something to support myself with. So what the heck is wrong with finding something that interests me (medicine) and pursuing it?

    Just as all men are not alike, not all women are alike. This is the problem with the traditional “place” of women in the home and men in the workforce. Men had lots of choice about what kind of carreer to pursue and how much education they wanted to attain. Women had no such choice and it was assumed that because she had a uterus, that this would be her only pursuit. When your life is defined by your biology, there are no options.

    i’m thankful that i live today when i am appreciated as an individual, and not just an uterus.

  5. leanne woolrich said,

    My dad always told me never marry for money. Hang around the rich and marry for love.

    He was kidding.

    I married one of the most manly men out there – a tattooed rugby-playing, Harley-riding forklift mechanic whose favorite music is Johnny Cash, Motorhead, and Social Distortion. He also happens to love kids and will be more than thrilled to retire young once I get into and out of med school to raise our kids and work on motorcycles at home as a business (which he only does part-time now). He is more than 100% supportive of me being the major breadwinner.

    Probably because he’s not egotistical and living in the past like other men who feel threatened by a successful woman, and having their success defined by their percieved power in their little worlds.

  6. eva turner said,

    I come from a different perspective. I was compelled to pursue my own education because I was interested and qualified to be accepted to my professional school. But…thats not what you asked!

    When I graduated as a pharmacist, what compelled me to pursue my career was my interest, ability & the feeling of doing what I was trained to do. I began my education not even knowing my spouse & ended it married to him. He encouraged me, humored me, supported me (NOT financially – that was me supporting HIM!).

    There was never any discussion with my spouse (who is a dentist) about me pursuing my career & he, his. The negotiations had to begin when we had children. But…that would have happened anyway.

    I’ve been in my career for 30 years. I’m good at what I do, valuable to my profession & those I work with & for, feel good about being productive and have instilled the values my spouse & I feel are important in our children.

    What motivated me 30 years ago is different from now…except for one vital thing which remains the same – drugs & how they function fascinate me and always will.

Leave a Reply

